National Science Foundation Announces Outstanding Faculty Advisor Awards

EcoCAR 2 faculty advisors are the true champions for Advanced Vehicle Technology Competitions at each of the 15 universities in EcoCAR 2. Without their loyal support and dedication to each and every team, the competition would not be possible.

Each year, the National Science Foundation (NSF) recognizes two faculty advisors who best promote the goals, objectives, and activities related to EcoCAR at their universities. The NSF Outstanding Faculty Advisor Awards recognize faculty advisors who have successfully incorporated the EcoCAR objectives into the undergraduate engineering curriculum. They provide the proper balance between hands-on experience and classroom education and instill the importance of competition through hard work and commitment to team work. Each award winner received $10,000 in their honor.

Patrick Currier (middle) with Dr. Charlie Reinholtz and U.S. DOE's Connie Bezanson

Patrick Currier (middle) with Dr. Charlie Reinholtz and U.S. DOE’s Connie Bezanson

The Outstanding Incoming Faculty Advisor Award was awarded to Dr. Patrick Currier of Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University. Not only did his EcoCAR 2 students say that his gentle guidance tactics are the most appreciated aspects of his teaching methods, but it is the respect he gives to each and every student that promotes innovation and excellence within the team.

“Perhaps his greatest gift is his ability to always look forward and never behind,” said ERAU Mechanical Engineering Department Head Dr. Charlie Reinholtz. “He is among the nicest, most approachable, and most-student oriented faculty members I have ever known. He is the rare faculty member who has the highest levels of drive, talent, intelligence and ability but without a trace of ego or self-glorification. I feel truly fortunate to be able to work with such a driven and selfless individual.”

The Outstanding Long-Term Faculty Advisor Award was awarded to Dr. Roydon Fraser of the University of Waterloo. Since joining Advanced Vehicle Technology Competitions (AVTCs) in Ethanol Vehicle Challenge, Dr. Fraser’s commitment to the automotive engineering education expands well beyond his team and the EcoCAR 2 competition.

“All EcoCAR 2 advisors are a unique breed of faculty member who make personal sacrifices, push the bureaucratic systems to make things happen, assist in developing industry links, and most importantly work towards motivating students to achieve their best.  We do this because we believe in the very special and unique hands-on, career building, experiences EcoCAR 2 offers our students,” said Dr. Fraser.

University of Waterloo's Roydon Fraser wins the NSF Outstanding Long-Term Faculty Advisor Award

University of Waterloo’s Roydon Fraser wins the NSF Outstanding Long-Term Faculty Advisor Award

As a strong believer in improving engineering education through leveraging the unique skills, experience, and opportunities from participation in AVTCs, Dr. Fraser thanks his students for this honor.

“Personally, the National Science Foundation’s Outstanding Long Term Faculty Adviser Award is an honor to have received in recognition my efforts and commitment to the education of my students,” he said. “However, this award is particularly rewarding in that the nomination was initiated and prepared by students I have supervised during EcoCAR 2 and previous AVTCs. Such confirmation of the positive impact of my advisor role is most energizing so I conclude with the hope that I will be fortunate enough to continue my advisor roe for many years to come.”

Please congratulate both Dr. Patrick Currier and Dr. Roydon Fraser on their achievement with EcoCAR 2 and on being awarded the National Science Foundation Outstanding Faculty Advisor Awards!